Other

It is interesting to note the evolution of Reich’s discoveries which from the psychological realm led to the social realm, then to the biological realm and finally to the physical-astronomical realm, in the opposite direction from the natural sequence where clearly the fundamental physical functions determine the biological functions which in turn determine the social functions which finally determine the psychological functions, as can be seen in the following diagram:

IV Physical-astronomical realm
III Biological realm
II Social realm
I Psychological realm

One is struck in this diagram by the order of natural importance of the more superficial realms (in the evolutionary sense the realms that are younger and therefore less vast): the psychological and social realms. The social realm, in fact, is older and more profound than the psychological realm, which is determined by the biological realm (genetics and various biological laws) but also by the environment and society. The famous “nature or nurture” dichotomy is thus clarified: “nature” (the biological realm) is more profound than psychological functions, but so is “nurture” (the social realm); although in a less vast and profound way than “nature”; “nurture” also determines psychological life.

A practical example will clarify this concept: exemplary parents who educate their children in a functional way with love, being careful to prevent the formation of armor and therefore neurotic disorders, could see all their good work ruined by an unhealthy or negative external environment which could be experienced by their children at any time during their growth. The importance of preventing the formation of armor in children is therefore equal to that of protecting children from the emotional plague and its infinite manifestations.

Other

Interessanterweise entwickelten sich Reichs Entdeckungen aus dem psychologischen Bereich hin in den sozialen Bereich, anschliessend in den biologischen und zuletzt in den Bereich der Physik und Astronomie. Diese Richtung ist entgegengesetzt der natürlichen Reihenfolge, in der die physikalischen Grundfunktionen die biologischen Funktionen bestimmen, welche wiederum die sozialen Funktionen bestimmen und diese schliesslich bestimmen die psychologischen Funktionen. Folgende Darstellung illustriert diesen Umstand:

IV Bereich der Physik und Astronomie
III Biologischer Bereich
II Sozialer Bereich
I Psychologischer Bereich

In dieser Darstellung fällt auf, wie wichtig die eher oberflächlichen Bereiche sind (im evolutionären Sinn die jüngeren und deshalb weniger tief greifenden Bereiche): der psychologische und der soziale Bereich. Der soziale Bereich ist älter und tiefgreifender als der psychologische, denn der psychologische Bereich wird durch den biologischen Bereich bestimmt (Genetik und weitere biologische Gesetze), aber auch durch die Umwelt und die Gesellschaft (sozialer Bereich). Die berühmte Dichotomie „nature or nurture“ (Natur oder Umwelt) ist hiermit geklärt: „Nature“ (der biologische Bereich) ist tiefer reichend als die psychologischen Funktionen, aber auch „nurture“ (der soziale Bereich) beeinflusst das psychologische Leben, wenn auch weniger tiefgreifend wie „nature“.

Ein Beispiel aus der Praxis erklärt dieses Konzept: Alle Bemühungen von Eltern, welche ihre Kinder funktional und mit Liebe aufziehen und vorsichtig darauf achten, dass sich keine Panzerung und somit keine neurotischen Störungen bilden, können von einer ungesunden oder negativen externen Umwelt zunichte gemacht werden, welcher die Kinder irgendwann während dem Aufwachsen ausgesetzt sind. Die Bildung einer Panzerung zu verhindern ist deshalb genauso wichtig wie die Kinder vor der emotionalen Pest und ihren unzählbahren Erscheinungsformen zu beschützen.